Monday, September 01, 2008

Some New Favorites.

Gentle's Holler, by Kerry Madden. I was looking for a read-alike for Savvy and I sure found one in this novel by Madden. Like Law's novel, the main character in this book is a young girl living in the south, and the book focuses on her relationships with her siblings and father. Although their styles are different, the authors capture the feeling of the South (I assume, having never been there; at least it doesn't feel canned). Although not the happiest of reads, the book definitely gets two thumbs up. Dealing with Dragons, by Patricia C. Wrede. I have all these lovely books from the library laying around the apartment, but I really wanted to read one of my old favorites. I love Wrede's Dragons series. The characters seem to recognize The Tradition in the same way Lackey's characters do in her 500 Kingdoms books, although they never quite talk about it. I enjoy the writing style [period]-- no "but blahbah commas" etc.


Ms. Yingling said...

If you like Dealing with Dragons, have you read Alanna: The First Adventure? I loved spending time in Tortall. And good for you for doing so much reading in college. That is a very hard thing to do!

sarah said...

No, but I did read Pierce's second series, starting with First Test. I was not a fan, actually. But since you recommend it, I'll have to give her earlier books a try.